top of page


The Colorado Wyoming Writing Centers Association, 501(c)(3), is a recognized affiliate of the International Writing Centers Association (IWCA). CWWCA was formally established as the Colorado and Wyoming Writing Tutors Conference Association (CWWTC) with the ratification of its first official constitution in 2006, though its founding members and institutions have been gathering to represent, promote, and protect writing center academic principles, ideas, standards, and practices since at least the year 2000. The CWWTC Board voted unanimously to change its name to CWWCA in 2019. 


Our mission is to promote connections and communication among writing centers, tutors, staff, instructors, faculty, and directors by sponsoring an annual conference and through other means and activities as needed.

The CWWCA is governed by an Executive Committee:


Justin Bain, Director,

The Writing Center at CU Denver



Jason Schlueter, Coordinator,

Arapahoe Community College Writing Center



Drew Bixby, Assistant Director,

The Writing Center at CU Denver


Ameeta Scott, Writing Center Manager,

The Learning Commons at Regis University


2020 Conference Organizing Chair:

Chad Pickering, Director,

The Writing Room and Gen-Ed Tutoring Center, CSU-Pueblo

Board meeting convenes at each annual conference to conduct CWWCA business. The CWWCA Board consists of the Executive Committee and one director (or proxy) from each attending writing center choosing to send a representative.

CWWCA membership is automatically granted for one (1) year to anyone who attends the prior year's annual conference. Any current member is eligible for election to the Executive Committee.

Download the CWWCA Constitution

bottom of page